Share:

The Emra family, St George

The Emra family, St George

Explore the lives and art of the Emra family living in St George, Bristol, in the 1800s

Rev John Emra was vicar of St George 1809-1842.

His daughter Elizabeth wrote "Scenes in our Parish" in the 1830s with tales about St George. This is Martha who in 1840 also wrote about the family's life.

Thanks to an extra-illustrated copy of Martha's book held by Somerset Archives @SomHeritage we have new (at least to us) images of the first St George church; we think drawn by a member of the Emra family. These are now on the @KYPBristol map

This first church was bulit in the 1750s for the new parish of St George. This image also shows the vicarage where the Emra family lived. Until 1897, St George was outside the city of #Bristol in #Gloucestershire

After Rev John Emra died in 1842 a new vicar took over, he deemed the church "not very ecclesiastical," so it was rebuilt 1846. Here is an image of that second church, the first illustration of it that we have seen.
This 2nd church burnt down in 1878.

In the vicarage garden was the base of St John's Cross, which is now outside St George Library.

We have not found any drawings of Rev John Emra or his most famous daughter Elizabeth, but here Elizabeth's sister Lucy, who may have put the illustrated copy of the book together.


Read more about the Emra family here and here.
There is more about the history of St George's churches here.

This entry is shared courtesy of Friends of Troopers Hill, Bristol.

Butterfly Divider
Arrow